Ashoka Chakra Gold Coin: 6 Must Know Points

Posted By:

The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will launch the Gold Coin Scheme on Thursday, 5th November, 2015 in the national capital.

Check gold rates in India

This was proposed in Union Budget 2015 along with two other gold schemes. The other two schemes are Gold Monetisation Scheme (GMS) and Gold Sovereign Bond Scheme.

Ashoka Chakra Gold Coin: 6 Must Know Points

1. The Ashoka Chakra Gold Coin is a part of the Gold Monetisation Programme.

2. This will be the first ever national gold coin which will have the National Emblem of Ashok Chakra engraved on one side.

3. As of now, the coins will be available in denominations of 5 and 10 grams. However, a 20 gram bar/bullion will also be available.

4. Initially, 15,000 coins of 5gm, 20,000 coins of 10 gm and 3,750 Gold bullions will be made available through MMTC outlets.

5. Ashoka Chakra gold coin will carry advanced anti-counterfeit features and tamper proof packaging that will aid easy re-cycling.

6. The Indian Cold coin will be of 24 karat purity & 999 fineness. All coins will be hallmarked as per the BIS standards. These coins will be distributed through designated & recognised MMTC outlets.

Story first published: Wednesday, November 4, 2015, 9:38 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...
Company Search
Enter the first few characters of the company's name or the NSE symbol or BSE code and click 'Go'

Thousands of Goodreturn readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?