For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

RBI To Merge 3 Categories Of NBFCs To Form A New Category


The RBI has decided to merge the three categories of NBFCs namely. Asset Finance Companies (AFC), Loan Companies (LCs) and Investment Companies (ICs) into a new category called NBFC - Investment and Credit Company (NBFC-ICC).


RBI To Merge 3 Categories Of NBFCs To Form A New Category

In a RBI notification released on Friday, the central bank will merge the 3 sub-categories of NBFCs to form a new category. "On a review, it has been decided that in order to provide NBFCs with greater operational flexibility, harmonisation of different categories of NBFCs into fewer ones shall be carried out based on the principle of regulation by activity rather than regulation by an entity," the RBI added.

Further, a deposit-taking NBFC-ICC shall invest in unquoted shares of another company which is not a subsidiary company or a company in the same group of the NBFC, an amount not exceeding 20% of its owned fund, the central bank said.

Read more about: rbi nbfc
Story first published: Monday, February 25, 2019, 10:52 [IST]
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X