For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

No Former PM Will Be Present In Parliament In The Upcoming Budget Session


The Parliament's first budget session after the formation of the new government at the Centre is scheduled to start on 17 June. The Union Budget for the financial budget will be presented by Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on 5 July.

No Former PM Will Be Present In Parliament In The Upcoming Budget Session

Meanwhile, two-time former prime minister, Manmohan Singh's 30-year long tenure as a Rajya Sabha member ended on 14 June. The end of his tenure and loss of HD Deve Gowda's loss at the Tumkur constituency in the recent general elections will mean none of the former prime ministers will be present at the parliament during the budget session.

Singh will not be present in the Rajya Sabha for the first time since he won his first election from Assam in 1991. He could not make in the Upper House of the Parliament due to Congress party's poor strength in the state Assembly, who could not get him re-elected from Assam as it has only 25 MLAs as against 43 first-preference votes needed. The renowned economist was last elected to the Rajya Sabha in 2013.

Deve Gowda, (PM from June 1996 to April 1997), lost to BJP's GS Basavaraj from Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency by over 13,000 votes in the recent general elections. He used to regularly contest from the Hassan constituency but gave up his seat in favour of his grandson Prajwal Revanna.

Company Search
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Goodreturns sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Goodreturns website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more