For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Banks To Be Shut For 7 Days In Remaining May Month: Check Details


For the month of May, RBI holiday list shows 6 holidays but some of these are city and state-specific. Apart from that banks do not function on second and fourth Saturdays (which are on 8th and 22nd in May) and Sundays.

Banks To Be Shut For 7 Days In Remaining May Month: Check Details

As per the guidelines of RBI, gazette holidays are observed by banks all through the country and include occasions such as Republic Day (January 26), Independence Day (August 15), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2), Christmas Day (December 25). Other bank holidays are observed for festivals such as Good Friday, Christmas, Diwali etc.

Now for the days ahead in May month for which banking operations shall not be available to customers there are 3 declared holidays which will be observed in a majority of Indian states, barring few. Today also (May 10, 2021), the bank holiday is being observed in Jammu and Srinagar for Shab-i-Qadr. This is apart from the fourth Saturday (May 22) and remaining 3 Sundays that will be there this month.

Ramzan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitr) (Shawal-1)- May 13
Bhagvan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/Basava Jayanti/Akshaya Tritiya - May 14
Buddha Pournima- May 26

So, customers who were planning a visit to their bank should note of these details and will in fact we better off completing most banking tasks through various available online modes amid the raging pandemic.

Read more about: bank rbi bank holidays banking
Story first published: Monday, May 10, 2021, 12:24 [IST]
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X