For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

PM Modi To Launch Property Cards Under The SVAMITVA Scheme On 11 Oct


On Sunday, Prime Minister Modi will launch the physical distribution of property cards under the 'SVAMITVA' (ownership) scheme via videoconferencing.


In a statement, the PM's Office said the launch will enable around one lakh property holders to download their Property Cards through the SMS link delivered on their mobile phones. This would be followed by physical distribution of the Property Cards by the respective State governments, it added.

PM Modi To Launch Property Cards Under The SVAMITVA Scheme On 11 Oct

Beneficiaries of the property cards under the SVAMITVA scheme are from 763 villages across six States including 346 from Uttar Pradesh, 221 from Haryana, 100 from Maharashtra, 44 from Madhya Pradesh, 50 from Uttarakhand and 2 from Karnataka.

Beneficiaries from all these states except Maharashtra will receive the physical copies of the Property Cards within one day. PMO statement explained that Maharashtra has a system of recovering the nominal cost of Property Card, so it will take a month's time.

The event will commence at 11 am on 11 October and Union Minister for Panchayati Raj will be present on the occasion.

How will the Property Cards help beneficiaries?

The property cards will help villagers use their property as a financial asset for taking loans and other financial benefits.


What is SVAMITVA scheme?

SVAMITVA is a Central Sector Scheme of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj, which was launched on 24 April 2020, also the National Panchayati Raj Day. The scheme aims to provide the 'record of rights' to village household owners in rural areas and issue Property Cards.

The Scheme is being implemented across the country in a phased manner over a period of four years (2020-2024) and would eventually cover around 6.62 lakh villages of the country. About 1 lakh villages in the States of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Karnataka, and few border villages of Punjab & Rajasthan, along with the establishment of Continuous Operating System (CORS) stations' network across Punjab & Rajasthan, are being covered in the Pilot phase (2020-21).

All these six States have signed MoU with Survey of India for drone survey of rural areas and implementation of the scheme. These States have finalised the digital property card format and the villages to be covered for a drone-based survey. States of Punjab and Rajasthan have signed MoU with Survey of India for the establishment of CORS network to assist in future drone flying activities.

Different States have different nomenclature for the Property Cards: 'Title deed' in Haryana, 'Rural Property Ownership Records (RPOR)' in Karnataka, 'Adhikar Abhilekh' in Madhya Pradesh, 'Sannad' in Maharashtra, 'Svamitva Abhilekh' in Uttarakhand, 'Gharauni' in Uttar Pradesh.

Read more about: modi property real estate
Story first published: Friday, October 9, 2020, 19:00 [IST]
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X