For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

7th Pay Commission: How to Calculate your Salary?


The government has announced the introduction of the Seventh Pay Commission, which will raise wages and pensions for over 1 crore government employees and pensioners by at least 23.5 percent, starting on January 1, 2016. The Finance Minister declared that Manmohan Singh, the then Prime Minister, had authorized the 7th Pay Commission and that it would be introduced by January 2016. However, owing to several roadblocks, the Seventh Pay Commission's recommendations were not enforced by the recommended deadline. The 7th Pay Commission System determines the pay of central government employees and staffers in India. Central government employees are waiting for an update from the 7th Pay Commission, which is made every six months, after the Union Budget was presented on July 5, 2019. This is because their Dearness Allowance has been increased (DA). The government increased the DA for government workers by 3% in January 2019. The DA is now expected to rise by 5%, according to financial analysts.


What is the 7th CPC Pay Matrix?

What is the 7th CPC Pay Matrix?

The pay matrix of the 7th Pay Commission is a basic chart that shows all of the pay levels in one place. The current pay matrix reflects many of the demands of government workers that fall under the 7th Pay Commission's jurisdiction. The wage matrix divides the pay hierarchy into 18 separate pay tiers. Employees may also use a pay matrix to check their current pay level and forecast their future growth throughout their careers. The pay matrix of the 7th pay commission is the most recent matrix that is currently being used to determine the payment amount of any Central Government employee.

The index of rationalization was implemented by the 7th Pay Commission (CPC), which means that the minimum pay has been raised to 18,000 per month, and the starting salary of a newly hired employee at the lowest level is now Rs 18000, whereas it is Rs 56900 for a newly recruited Class I officer. At the highest rank, the maximum pay is Rs 250,000.

7th Pay Commission: How to Calculate your Salary?

7th Pay Commission: How to Calculate your Salary?

The salary is calculated by multiplying the current basic pay by a factor of 2.57, then adding all relevant benefits such as Transport Allowance (TA), House Rent Allowance (HRA), Medical Allowance, and so on to arrive at the final amount.

According to the 7th pay commission's recommendation, the procedure for adjusting pay scales from the 6th CPC to the 7th CPC is detailed below:

Let us consider an example:

The basic pay of an employee is Rs 20,000 as of January 1, 2016

Multiply by a Fitment factor of 2.57

20,000 x 2.57 = Rs. 51,400

Note: To the sum of Rs 51,400, add TA, HRA, and medical Allowances, as applicable, and according to the revised rates of allowances approved by the government, etc.

New Pay = (Basic pay x 2.57)+ All Allowances

Now pay = Rs. 51,400 + All allowances.

Other Recommendations of 7th Pay Commission

Other Recommendations of 7th Pay Commission

The rate of annual increment is being held at 3%, according to the recommendations of the 7th Pay Commission. The Commission has recommended the implementation of Performance Related Pay (PRP) for all categories of Central Government employees, based on the Quality Results Framework Documents, the revised Annual Performance Appraisal Reports, and some other broad guidelines.

Note that employee allowances such as the Dearness Allowance (DA), House Rent Allowance (HRA), Travel Allowance (TA) and others will not be allowed to surpass 50% of the net CTC under the New-Wage Code Bill 2021.

Read more about: 7th pay commission salary
Story first published: Friday, March 12, 2021, 10:47 [IST]
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X