For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Here's How Much You Pay as Taxes on Petrol, Diesel in Your State/UT


Did you know that in some states, consumers pay close to 50 percent as tax and other charges on the petrol purchased? The government makes a major portion of its tax revenue from petroleum products and a recent PTI report stated citing a government official that the Union government will not be reducing the excise duty it imposes as it would widen the CAD (current account deficit) and disturb the country's fiscal math. Besides the central government, states also impose VAT (value added tax) and surcharges burning a bigger hole in consumer's pockets.

Here's How Much You Pay as Taxes on Petrol, Diesel in Your State/UT

The price at which the state-owned retailer Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) sells petrol to dealers was a little over Rs 39 per litre excluding VAT and excise on Saturday as per an ET report. As the prices on petrol and diesel hit new highs, here is a list of percentages of VAT that are imposed on the fuels across states and union territories in India:

State/UT Petrol Diesel
Andaman and Nicobar Islands 6.00% 6.00%
Andhra Pradesh 35.77% 28.08%
Arunachal Pradesh 20.00% 12.50%
Assam 30.90% 22.79%
Bihar 24.71% 18.34%
Chandigarh 19.76% 11.42%
Chhattisgarh 26.87% 25.74%
Dadra and Nagar Haveli 20.00% 15.00%
Daman and Diu 20.00% 15.00%
Delhi 27.00% 17.24%
Goa 16.66% 18.88%
Gujarat 25.45% 25.55%
Haryana 26.25% 17.22%
Himachal Pradesh 24.43% 14.38%
Jammu and Kashmir 27.36% 17.02%
Jharkhand 25.72% 23.21%
Karnataka 30.28% 20.23%
Kerala 30.37% 23.81%
Lakshadweep - -
Madhya Pradesh 35.78% 23.22%
Maharashtra (Mumbai, Thane and Navi Mumbai) 39.12% 24.78%
Maharashtra (rest of the state) 38.11% 21.89%
Manipur 23.67% 13.97%
Meghalaya 22.44% 13.77%
Mizoram 18.88% 11.54%
Nagaland 23.21% 13.60%
Odisha 24.62% 25.04%
Puducherry 21.15% 17.15%
Punjab 35.12% 16.74%
Rajasthan 26.80% 20.09%
Sikkim 27.87% 15.71%
Tamil Nadu 32.16% 24.08%
Telangana 33.31% 26.01%
Tripura 23.15% 16.18%
Uttar Pradesh 26.90% 16.84%
Uttarakhand 27.15% 16.82%
West Bengal 25.25% 17.54%

Note that the tax rates above include state taxes, VAT, additional tax, cess and surcharges that are recoverable as central sales tax and other central levies. Excise duty levied by the central government is Rs 19.48 per litre on non-branded petrol and Rs 15.33 per litre on regular diesel. Branded fuel rates are higher.

In states of West Bengal and Bihar an additional surcharge of 20 and 30 percent is levied respectively on fuel and it is irrecoverable.

Dealer's commission is also added to the final retail price you pay at the fuel stations and it varies based on location at the range of Rs 3 to 3.65 per litre for petrol and Rs 2 to Rs 2.62 per litre for diesel.


Also note that state governments of Arunachal Pradesh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Chandigarh, Puducherry, Andaman and Nicobar, Meghalaya, Dadar Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu charge additional VAT or sales tax on dealer's commission.

Read more about: petrol diesel
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Goodreturns sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Goodreturns website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more