For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Rajiv Kumar Appointed As The New Finance Secretary


On Tuesday, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved the appointment of department of financial services (DFS) secretary Rajiv Kumar as the new finance secretary.

Kumar will succeed Subhash Chandra Garg, who was transferred to the power ministry as a secretary following a bureaucratic reshuffle on 24 July.

Rajiv Kumar Appointed As The New Finance Secretary

In India, a finance secretary is the senior-most bureaucrat among the finance ministry's five departments, namely, revenue, expenditure, economic affairs, financial services and department of investment and public asset management (DIPAM).

Kumar had taken over his services as the financial services secretary in September 2017. During his term, he spearheaded the government's plan to consolidate weaker public sector banks to make them stronger (starting with Dena Bank and Vijaya Bank's merger with Bank of Baroda). He also played a key role in Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana.

The 57-year old 1984-batch IAS officer from Jharkhand cadre has been a part of the Union Budget making exercise thrice.

Read more about: finance ministry
Story first published: Wednesday, July 31, 2019, 11:24 [IST]
Company Search
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Goodreturns sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Goodreturns website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more