For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bank Holidays In 2021: Banks To Remain Shut On These Days In January


The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has released a list of bank holidays for the year 2021, which also specifies that all public and private sector banks will remain closed for operations on Sundays as well as second and fourth Saturdays.

Bank Holidays In 2021: Banks To Remain Shut On These Days In January

While bank branches were open for service in most cities across the country, they were closed for New Year in Chennai, Aizawl, Gangtok, Imphal and Shillong.

Other holidays are as follows:

  • 2 January 2021: New Year's Celebration
  • 3 January 2021: Sunday
  • 9 January 2021: Second Saturday
  • 10 January 2021: Sunday
  • 12 January 2021: Swami Vivekananda Birth Anniversary
  • 14 January 2021: Makar Sankranti/Pongal/Maghe Sankranti
  • 15 January 2021: Thiruvalluvar Day/ Magh Bihu and Tusu Puja
  • 16 January 2021: Uzhavar Thirunal
  • 17 January 2021: Sunday
  • 20 January 2021: Guru Govind Singh Ji Birth Anniversary
  • 23 January 2021: Fourth Saturday, Birth Anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose
  • 24 January 2021: Sunday
  • 25 January 2021: Imoinu Iratpa
  • 26 January 2021: Republic Day
  • 31 January 2021: Sunday

The holidays specified above are largely specific to states only.

Read more about: bank holidays banking
Story first published: Saturday, January 2, 2021, 14:40 [IST]
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X