For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Central Govt Releases Rs 6,195 Cr Grant To 14 States

By Staff

The central government released Rs 6,195 crore to 14 states on 10 September as monthly instalment of post-devolution revenue deficit grant.

Central Govt Releases Rs 6,195 Cr Grant To 14 States

"The government on September 10, 2020 released Rs 6,195.08 crore to 14 states as the sixth equated monthly instalment of the Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant as recommended by the 15th Finance Commission. This would provide them additional resources during the Corona crisis," said Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman's Office in a tweet.


According to the official release on the same attached to the tweet, the 14 states that received the grant were Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

A similar amount was released as grant in April-August period of the current financial year. The Finance Commission provides a mechanism for the central government to compensate for revenue loss incurred by states, which is referred to as the post-devolution revenue deficit grant.

Read more about: coronavirus nirmala sitharaman
Story first published: Friday, September 11, 2020, 17:57 [IST]
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X