For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

RGESS: Stocks that are eligible for investment under the scheme

RGESS: Stocks that are eligible for investment
Investing in the Rajiv Gandhi Equity Savings Scheme (RGESS), allows you additional tax saving benefits with investment in specified listed stocks.

Investments up to Rs 50,000 in these stocks are eligible for tax benefit under section 80 CCG.

It's important to remember that the scheme has a designated 100 stocks, which are the top 100 companies stocks listed on the bourses and includes maharatnas and mutual funds.

It's important to remember that while you will get tax benefits, you are still exposed to the risk of investing in equities.

You can pick from a list of listed stocks from four categories: CNX 100, BSE 100, Maharatna and Navaratna & ETFs

Eligible securities include:

Equity shares falling in the list of securities declared as "BSE-100" or " CNX-100".

1. Equity shares of public sector enterprises which are categorised as Maharatna, Navratna or Miniratna by the Central Government.

2. Units of Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) or Mutual Fund (MF) schemes which have securities eligible under Rajiv Gandhi Equity Savings Scheme (RGESS) as underlying, provided they are listed and traded on a stock exchange and settled through a depository mechanism.

3. Follow on Public Offer of eligible securities.

4. New Fund Offers (NFOs) of eligible ETF's and mutual funds.

Click for list of mutual funds offering the scheme.

Here is the list of stocks eligible under RGESS.

One can look at the BSE 100 stock list for investment also.


Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited

Coal India Limited

GAIL (India) Limited

Indian Oil Corporation Limited

NTPC Limited

Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited

Steel Authority of India Limited


Bharat Electronics Limited

Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited

3. Hindustan Aeronautics Limited


4. Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited

Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited

National Aluminium Company Limited

NMDC Limited

Neyveli Lignite Corporation Limited

Oil India Limited

Power Finance Corporation Limited

Power Grid Corporation of India Limited

12. Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited

Rural Electrification Corporation Limited

Shipping Corporation of India Limited

Miniratans category I & II

Read more about: rgess investment
Company Search
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Goodreturns sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Goodreturns website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more