For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

How to File Complaint for a Delay in Income Tax Refund?


If you have a grievance relating to non receipt of income tax refund, here's what you can do. You could approach the Income Tax Ombudsman with your claims regarding a refund, which has been delayed or probably even forgotten. Also read documents needed to file tax returns


How to File Complaint for a Delay in Income Tax Refund?

The IT Ombudsman not only handles income tax refund grievances, but a host of other issues. These include interest waiver petitions, giving effect to appellate orders, rectification of applications, release of seized books of accounts, allotment of PAN, and issue of PAN cards, non credit of tax paid etc.Documents needed to file Income Tax Returns

Before you approach the Ombudsman, you should have submitted a written complaint with your income tax officer. If you feel that the complaint has not addressed to your complete satisfaction, or if the officer rejects your complaint, or if no reply is received within 30 days of writing the complaint, only then should the issue be raised to Ombudsman.

It's important to note that the complaint should be filed with the Ombudsman within one year, after the 30 day wait for a response from the I-T official.

You can also file a complaint online. However, after filing a complaint online, the print out must be signed and sent to the Ombudsman. The complaint should clearly indicate:

1) The name,address and PAN of the complainant
2) The name and designation of the official who is being complained against
3) The facts on which the complaints are based - including the supporting documents
4) The relief sought from the Ombudsman

The present jurisdiction of IT Ombudsman include:

1. Mumbai (Mumbai Jurisdiction)
2. Delhi (National Capital Territory)
3. Bangalore (Karnataka, Goa)
4. Kanpur (Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal)
5. Chennai (Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry)
6. Pune (Maharashtra (-excluding Mumbai))
7. Kolkata (West Bengal, Bihar, Orissa, North Eastern States, Jharkhand, Andaman & Nicobar Islands)
8. Ahmedabad (Rajasthan, Gujarat, Damand & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli)
9. Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh)
10. Chandigarh (Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Jammu & Kashmir)
11. Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh)
12. Cochin (Kerala , Laksahadweep)


To check your ombudsman click

Read more about: pan card income tax refund
Company Search
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X