Home  »  Company  »  Garware Synthetics Ltd.  »  Quotes  »  Company History
Enter the first few characters of Company and click 'Go'

Garware Synthetics Ltd. Company History and Annual Growth Details

Garware Synthetics Limited (GSL) was incorporated as a Private Limited Company on September 1, 1969, under the name and style of Garware Synthetic Bristles Pvt. Ltd., The name of company was changed to Garware Synthetics Private Limited on September 18, 1874. GSL was converted into a Public Limited company on June 8, 1992 and accordingly a fresh certificate of incorporation has been obtained to this effect.

GSL commenced its activities in 1969 and it was one of the first in the country to undertake the manufacture of bristles which was otherwise exclusively imported from USA and Germany. In subsequent years, GSL has consolidated its position in this segment of business with capacities moving from 100 MT per annum in 1969 to 585 MT per annum at present. GSL manufactures a range of nylon bristles which find extensive application in fishing lines, tooth brushes, shaving brushes etc.

For over two decades, GSL's products sold under the brand name 'Garflom' are, synonymous with high quality and some of their prominent customers are Colgate Palmolive, Hindustan Ciba Geigy etc.,

Garware Synthetics limited was promoted by the Late Mr. B.D. Garware and his family, who are the pioneers in the field of manufacturing of Thermoplastics.

The present promoter Mr. Chandrakant Bhalchandra Garware has been instrumental in developing the business plan for GSL and was responsible for its growth.

Garware Paints Limited (GPL) is the other company controlled by Mr. C.B. Garware. In 1946, the Garware group acquired a major stake in a British company called M/s. Blundel Fomite Paints Limited. The name was later changed to Garware Paints Limited in November 1978.


Garware Synthetics Ltd has informed BSE that it has appointed new Company Secretary Mr Vinay T Nagaonkar with effect from January 25, 2003. Mr Pratap Salin, Company Secretary of the Company has resigned with effect from January 24, 2003.