Home  »  Company  »  Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd.  »  Quotes  »  Company History
Enter the first few characters of Company and click 'Go'

Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd. Company History and Annual Growth Details

Our Company belongs to the Uttam Group of Companies promoted
by the Adlakha family.

Our Company was incorporated as Associated Sugar Mills Limited on
October 04, 1993. The erstwhile promoters of the Company were
Mr. M. K. Swarup and his family/associates. The Company received the
Certificate for Commencement of business on April 18, 1994. The
Company also received a license to set up a sugar mill with a capacity
of 2500 TCD under the then prevailing licensing system.

In the year 1998, Uttam Group acquired the 100% shareholding in the
Company from the erstwhile promoters and gained overall control of
our Company. Subsequent to this, the name of our Company was
changed to Uttam Sugar Mills Limited and a fresh Certificate of the
Incorporation was obtained on November 24, 1998 from the Additional
Registrar of Companies N.C.T. of Delhi and Haryana.

Our current promoters are Mr. Raj Kumar Adlakha, Mr. Rajan Adlakha,
Mr. Ranjan Adlakha, Uttam Industrial Engineering Limited, Lipi Boilers
Limited and Uttam Sucrotech Limited.

We set up our first sugar unit at village Libberheri, Tehsil Roorkee,
Distt. Haridwar, Uttaranchal in 2001 for manufacturing sugar using
double sulphitation process with a capacity of 2500 TCD along-with
cogeneration facilities of 6 MW of power. Our Company commenced
commercial production from January 2001.

Our Company expanded its capacity to 4000 TCD during November 2001
by installing additional cane loaders/un-loaders, increasing the length of
cane conveyor, adding certain evaporator bodies, centrifugal machines
etc. Our Company further expanded its capacity to 5000 TCD along-with
additional co-generation facility of 3 MW during November 2002.

Our Company further increased its installed capacity to 6250 TCD and
upgraded its production process to the present Defeco Remelt Phospho
Floatation process alongwith the expansion of co-generation facility to
16 MW of power in the year 2004.


-Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd has decided to shift the registered office of the Company from the State of Delhi to State of Uttrakhand and proposed resolution for change of registered office will be passed through postal ballot as per the provisions of Section 192A of the Companies Act, 1956.

-Uttam Sugar Mills Limited has appointed Mr. Prabhakaran Singh Lalli as an Independent Director of the Company.


- Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd has appointed Lieutenant Colonel Pasha Biswas (Retd) as Whole Time Director of the Company


- Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd has informed that the Board of Directors of the Company has appointed Mr. Rajender Kumar Agrawal as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. July 15, 2009.

- Uttam Sugar Mills Limited has informed that the Board of Directors of the Company has appointment Mr. Gurbachan Singh Matta as an Independent Director of the Company w.e.f. September 12, 2009.

- Uttam Sugar Mills Limited has appointed Mr. Krishan Gopal Sharma and Mr. Satish Chandra as Nominee Directors of Punjab National Bank and IDBI Bank Ltd. respectively.

-Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd Issues Rights in the Ratio of 12:25.
-Uttam Sugar Mills Ltd has started export of power to Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Ltd. (UPPCL) as per Power Purchase Agreement executed with UPPCL. Now, all the four Sugar Units of the Company are having co-generation facility and exporting Power to UPPCL / Uttarakhand Power Corporation Ltd. (UPCL).

-Company's all four sugar units situated in the State of Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh have started cane crushing for the Sugar Season.